Final candidate files nomination papers

 page image
Posted on:

Corporate News

It appears the lineup for the election of the Palliser Regional Schools Board of Trustees is set.

A candidate, Kristine Cassie, filed nomination papers Tuesday for Ward 1, Subdivision 3. The initial deadline to file papers Monday had to be extended after no one had stepped forward to represent the rural area of Lethbridge County including Coalhurst, Nobleford and Barons. Incumbent Trustee Don Zech is not running for another term.

Her nomination is unofficial, however, until noon Wednesday. All candidates are given 24 hours to withdraw their nomination papers.

That period has passed for those who filed nomination papers Monday for the remaining wards within the boundaries of Palliser Regional Schools. Of those other five wards, there will be elections in two of them, with candidates winning three others by acclamation.

Incumbent Trustee Craig Whitehead is being challenged by Donald Boras in Ward 1, Subdivision 4, which takes in the area surrounding the communities of Picture Butte and Iron Springs.

The other election race will take part in Ward 2, Subdivision 1, which includes Vulcan County east of Highways 23/24 including Arrowwood, Milo and Champion. With incumbent Trustee Colleen Deitz not running for another term, either Lorelei Bexte and Marilyn MacArthur will join the Board.

Winning by acclamation in Ward 2, Subdivision 2, was incumbent Trustee Robert Strauss. The Board chair was the lone candidate for the area of Vulcan Country west and south of Highways 23/24.

Winning by acclamation in Ward 1, Subdivision 2, Town of Coaldale, was incumbent Trustee Debbie Laturnus.

Winning by acclamation in Ward 1, Subdivision 1 was newcomer Sharon Rutledge. Incumbent Trustee Esther Willms, who had represented the south end of Lethbridge County outside the City of Lethbridge and Town of Coaldale, is not running for another term.

Election Day across the province is set for Oct. 16.