2022 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee Announced

 page image
Posted on:
Elisabeth Pascal

Each and every day, Elisabeth Pascal greets the students in her kindergarten class with wholehearted excitement. “Elisabeth is one of the most enthusiastic teachers I have ever met,” said Sunnyside School’s Principal Mitchell VanDyk who put forward her nomination. “She passionately invests in her students daily and they absolutely love being in her class.”

In recognition of her dedication to making a difference in the lives of her students, Pascal has been named the 2022 Palliser School Division Board of Trustees’ nominee for the prestigious Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

“Elisabeth is dedicated, hard-working, enthusiastic, creative, and passionate. Our school is a better school because she is in it,” VanDyk went on to say. Pascal has built strong relationships with her students. She is kind, engaging, and caring and students are excited to see her each day. In just a few short months, she has created a wide variety of activities and events to celebrate her students and help them grow. Her students love being at school. She has done an exceptional job working on the academic skills of her students, demonstrating her willingness to go above and beyond to make sure the needs of her students are met.

Students and parents alike realize the difference this first-year teacher is making. Parents appreciate the strong communication from Pascal which includes sharing pictures and videos and connecting with parents after school with phone calls. “Even though she is new to Sunnyside School, she has already won the hearts of many of our parents,” added VanDyk. “She has demonstrated excellence beyond her experience.”

The award, named in honour of Edwin Parr, former president of the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), formerly the Alberta School Trustees’ Association, was established almost 60 years ago to recognize outstanding first-year teachers. School Boards across the province nominate one exceptional candidate to their ASBA Zone Committee each year. Successful nominees from each of the six Zones will be honoured at the association’s Fall General Meeting.