Candidate lists finalized

 page image
Posted on:

Corporate News

The ballots for the election of Palliser Regional Schools Board of Trustees are now off to the printers.

Nomination papers filed for all wards within the Palliser boundaries are now deemed official and the list of candidates has been finalized for Election Day on Oct. 16. There will be elections in two wards, with the remaining four won by acclamation.

Following is a list of each ward with a description of the boundaries, the name of the candidates who filed nomination papers (x = incumbent) and which ones went uncontested and have been won by acclamation:

  • Ward 1, Subdivision 1 (the south end of Lethbridge County outside the City of Lethbridge and Town of Coaldale), candidate Sharon Rutledge. Won by acclamation.
  • Ward 1, Subdivision 2 (Town of Coaldale), candidate Debbie Laturnus (X). Won by acclamation.
  • Ward 1, Subdivision 3 (rural area of Lethbridge County including Coalhurst, Nobleford and Barons), candidate Kristine Cassie. Won by acclamation.
  • Ward 1, Subdivision 4 (Picture Butte and the area surrounding it and Iron Springs), candidates Craig Whitehead (X) and Donald Boras.
  • Ward 2, Subdivision 1 (Vulcan County east of Highways 23/24 including Arrowwood, Milo and Champion), candidates Lorelei Bexte and Marilyn MacArthur.
  • Ward 2, Subdivision 2 (Vulcan Country west and south of Highways 23/24), candidate Robert Strauss (X). Won by acclamation.

It is likely the Sept. 26 regular meeting of the Board will be the last for incumbent Trustees Colleen Deitz, Esther Willms and Don Zech .

Further information on polling stations and other voting matters will be announced once available.